Nine Students Awarded 2024 SCAG Scholarships


SCAG announced the awardees of its 14th annual scholarship program, helping to inspire and support the next generation of public servants. SCAG received a record total of 115 applications from throughout the SCAG region.   

The Scholarship Committee of 13 Regional Council members and two representatives from academia recommended that the Regional Council award nine students with a 2024 SCAG Scholarship Program Award: Alexandra Garcia (Imperial), Camila Garcia (Calexico), Navin Parmar (Calabasas), Owen Rusk (Newhall), Joshua Lou (Cypress), Yaretzi Vazquez-Frias (Orange), Gina Namkung (Murietta), Bryan Moreno (Adelanto), Camilo Garcia (Oxnard). 

The California Transportation Foundation (CTF) once again partnered with SCAG to provide funding for two additional scholarship awards: Sod-Erdene Gadal (Los Angeles County) and Brianah Torres (Oro Grande). 

An additional scholarship was made possible by generous donations from Randall Lewis, the Building Industry Association, the City of Santa Fe Springs and incoming Regional Council Second Vice President Ray Marquez: Nathan Lopez (Santa Fe Springs). 

Congratulations to these future leaders in Southern California’s planning and governing community!