SCAG Now Accepting Nominations for the 2024 SCAG Sustainability Awards


SCAG is now accepting applications for the 2024 SCAG Sustainability Awards, SCAG’s annual recognition of plans and development projects that best exemplify the core principles of sustainability. These plans and projects are integral to accomplishing the goals of the , and they promote a cleaner, healthier and happier Southern California.  

The Sustainability Awards are open to governmental agencies, non-governmental agencies, community-based organizations, non-profits, universities and more. For projects that span multiple agencies, sectors and geographies, applicants are encouraged to submit a joint entry. Submittals include projects completed or adopted between Jan. 1, 2020, and Jan. 10, 2023. The winners of the SCAG Sustainability Awards will be presented at the 2024 Regional Conference and General Assembly at the JW Marriott Resort & Spa in Palm Desert on May 2.  

Now through Friday, Jan. 12, nominations will be accepted for the following award categories:  

  • Active, Healthy and Safe Communities  
  • Carmen Ramirez Award for Equity   
  • Clean Cities: Alternative Fuels and Infrastructures  
  • Green Region Initiative: Climate Action and Resource Conservation  
  • Housing Innovation  
  • Plan, Policy and Programs  


For questions regarding the 2024 Sustainability Awards, please contact Lyle Janicek at For more information including the award criteria and scoring rubric or to view past award winners visit the SCAG website